The Eastern Metropolitan Region

Coming Soon!
We are currently in the process of creating a new RFVP website, due for completion in mid-2018. 

The Eastern Metropolitan Region

The eastern metropolitan region of Melbourne is a diverse and populous area that stretches from inner city suburbs out to semi-rural townships in the Yarra Ranges. The EMR is situated on the traditional lands of the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin Nation.

The region extends from Melbourne's inner eastern suburbs of Kew and Doncaster and out to Lilydale and Healesville. It comprises local government areas of Boroondara, Knox, Manningham, Maroondah, Monash, Whitehorse and the Shire of Yarra Ranges.

Some relevant facts about the eastern metropolitan region:

  • 1,029,481 people live in the EMR which is about 20% of Victoria's population 
  • 31.5% were born overseas, with 24.2% born in a non-English speaking country
  • Over 26% of residents speak a language other than English at home, with Mandarin the most common language
  • 3,529 people identify as Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander (around 9% of Victoria's Indigenous population)
  • The percentage of the population aged 65 and over is expected to grow from 15.5% in 2011 to 18.4% in 2021
Source: DHS Regional Health Status Profiles, 2012.

Newsletter Subscription

Subscribe with your email address to stay up to date.

Go to top